Alone at Christmas, Thank God

This post is for the casual acquaintance who asks about my Christmas plans. You know the one I mean. The one who looks sympathetic when I say I’ll be spending Christmas alone, and disbelieving when I say I like it that way.

Here’s what Christmas looks like to me.

All is calm

The streets are quiet, like a Sunday, only more so, with the houses turned in on themselves. It almost feels like I can be outdoors without being in the public eye. There’s nowhere I have to be, and nothing I have to do.

All is bright

I already decorated, a little, from a single box of my very favorite items. I spent about 1/2 an hour draping a few of them here and there until it felt like Christmas. The moment it started to feel like a chore instead of a pleasure, I stopped, and called it done. There are no “shoulds” to Christmas in this house.

This Christmas, I might do a favorite jigsaw puzzle, and make molasses cookies, while listening to a Victorian-era novel. I’ll post a Facebook greeting, and send a couple of emails. I’ll put on my Noel sweatshirt and dance in my fuzzy slippers to Jingle Bell Rock. I’ll sing a second soprano descant to my favorite Christmas carol, which I will replay over and over until I get tired of it. I’ll watch It’s a Wonderful Life for the 35th time. I’ll eat sugar without regrets.

Sleep in heavenly peace

And then, I’ll sit in the living room with a lap full of purring cats, turn the TV to the Yule Log, and doze to instrumental carols, as colored lights fade on and off, casting their magical shadows across the room, again.


Here’s a nice stream playing “peaceful guitar and piano Christmas music.”

Post a Comment

