Test of Strengths: What Am I Good At?

Readers who follow SensitiveType will have read my description of trying to work some advice I read on the Free Range Humans blog (advice which you can hear many other places as well): Find your strength.

I was baffled about what my strength might be for the longest time.
Two southeast Asian women sit in a hut constructing lanterns
Now that I have finally figured out what I want to do, if not quite how to do it, guess what I came across today? StrengthsFinder 2.0. That’s right, there is a test for that. What’s more, it’s been around for several years. Why didn’t anybody tell me?!

I can’t report yet on how useful the book is, because I’m waiting for the library copy to become available, but I did check out this free test that is based on the same general idea. A few of the questions weren’t very clear, but you gotta love their motto: Greatness is for everyone.

I was intrigued by the way the free test probes deeper attitudes and values than the usual aptitude test. Talents, according to the site, are raw capacities and inclinations, while strengths are defined as developed skill at applying talents in a specific context.

There are 34 “talent themes,” and your test results list them in descending order from the one you scored highest on, with brief descriptions and a short video on each “theme.” The videos for your strongest talents are worth watching – they cover some ground that does not appear in the descriptions.

I scored higher in a couple of traits that didn’t seem like a close fit than I did in other traits that seemed much more like me. The wording on some of the questions could produce this result. Most of them are phrased positively, so people would be inclined to agree with them because they sound like a nice way to be. I always have a hard time with tests like this. The questions are never specific enough, so my answer would often be “it depends,” only there’s no box for that (scoring is on a 1-9 disagree-agree scale).

Then there’re the questions that begin “People see me as….” How would I know how people see me? Ask them! (To be fair, there are only a couple of those). The free test website exists to sell coaching services, so I’m taking it all with a grain of salt.

It’s food for thought, though. Check it out. I’ll get back to you on the real StrengthsFinder 2.0 once I get access to the book. In the meantime, if you have already taken the real test, I’d be very interested in whether the results resonated for you, and whether/how they affected your life in retrospect.

5 thoughts on “Test of Strengths: What Am I Good At?

  1. I took the test last year at work. My results REALLY resonated with me. Surprisingly so. It’s only been in the past several months, though, that I have been able to see how all of my strengths manifest themselves in my life and work. To be sure, most of my strengths don’t come into play in my current job. But I hope to figure out where I can use them best. Soon.

    I highly recommend you get the book and do the official test.

  2. But you have to buy the book. I don’t think you can take it without buying the book. We had to get separate books for each person in the office who was going to take it.

Post a Comment

