I Know I’m an HSP Because… I’d Rather Be Barefoot

I’ve always hated restrictive clothing – clothes that cling, clothes that bunch, clothes that bind, lady shirts with sleeves set so you can’t raise your arms above 30 degrees from your side, tight cuffs, and shoes. Especially shoes. I lose the shoes the minute I walk in my front door, and shed additional uncomfortable clothing all the way to the bedroom.

Luckily, the Asian/hippie-inspired 70s, and the mysterious popularity of fragile water-based floor finishes begat a new convention of leaving shoes at the door in many American households, so my barefootedness isn’t weird anymore.

A middle-aged woman in a business suit and bare feet sits and reads a book at the beach

2 thoughts on “I Know I’m an HSP Because… I’d Rather Be Barefoot

  1. Where I am originally from in Belgium it is normal to take your shoes off when entering someone’s home and just walk around barefoot or in socks. Now that I live in the USA.. Even after years of living here I still think it’s absolutely weird that people will just walk around in the house with the shoes that they were walking on the dirty ground with outside. I never wear shoes when I’m home it is just the weirdest thing to me to wear shoes in your house. I’m sure if I would have been born here I might have gotten used to wearing shoes in the house? But I am sure. Eventually I would have just walked around without shoes anyway!

  2. I have read that the debris Americans vacuum up from inside their residences would likely qualify as toxic waste if it was analyzed, due to all the things we bring in on our shoes (lead-filled dirt from the days of lead gasoline, chemicals such as antifreeze and pesticides we have walked through, etc.). Both carpeting and upholstered furniture strike me as things that can never truly be cleaned, and I avoid them wherever possible.

    That said, I disliked shoes because they confined my feet and cut them off from their sensory environment long before I became aware of any hygienic concerns. It has become much more common in the U.S. to leave shoes at the door – if you walk through a suburban neighborhood, you will see many front porches with shoe racks. There is even a sign I have seen on many front doors: “Life is full of choices – take off your shoes, or scrub the floor!”

Post a Comment

